You are here

When Could the Paris Agreement Take Effect? Interactive Map Sheds Light

Next week, more than 100 heads of state and other high-level government officials are expected to come to New York City for the signing ceremony of the Paris Agreement adopted at COP21 last year. The UN expects signatures at the ceremony to exceed the number of first-day signatures of any other international agreement, demonstrating overwhelming political support for global climate action.

Signing is the first of a two-step process for countries to formally join the Agreement—the next is ratification. Once 55 Parties to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) representing at least 55 percent of global greenhouse gases complete this process, the Agreement will “enter into force,” or come into effect and be legally binding.

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki Moon has called for leaders to sign and ratify the Agreement as soon as possible. The momentum has already started, with a number of countries receiving approval from their parliaments to ratify ahead of the signing ceremony on April 22nd.

But how soon will countries join? And what unique mix of countries is necessary to cross the 55-55 threshold that brings the Paris Agreement into full effect?

Introducing the Paris Agreement Tracker

Today, WRI unveiled the Paris Agreement Tracker. The interactive tool enables people to monitor countries’ progress toward ratifying the Paris Agreement, and allows users to create, share and embed their own combinations for bringing it into force.

Try it out for yourself below.

At the time of writing this blog, the Paris Tracker Map is blank, as no countries have signed or joined the Agreement yet. By tapping on countries or selecting geographies or negotiating groups, you can see what possible combinations of countries would cross the emissions and countries threshold.

Some insights that are immediately apparent include:

We Need at Least One of the Top 4 Emitters

As you can see in the scenario below, even if every other country in the world ratifies the Agreement, it cannot go into force without at least one of the four biggest emitters (China, United States, EU and Russia) doing so as well.

US and China Together Get Most, But Not All, of the Way There

The United States and China announced their intention to sign the Paris Agreement on April 22, and committed to join the Agreement this year “as early as possible.” Each country must follow its respective domestic processes before ratifying. The United States can join based on the president’s authority, but for China, the approval of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress is also required.

Combined, the United States and China account for about 38 percent of global emissions, which gives a major boost to efforts to reach the threshold for entry into force.  We would still need a number of relatively large emitters, such as Russia, India, Japan, Brazil, Canada, Korea or Mexico, to come on board early to meet the 55 percent emissions threshold quickly.

Where Are We At Right Now?

A number of countries, namely Fiji, Palau, Marshall Islands, the Maldives and Switzerland, have already completed their domestic approval processes allowing them to sign the Paris Agreement and ratify on April 22nd. Others, such as Tuvalu, have indicated they will do so by the signing ceremony.

Although these countries represent only a small amount of total global emissions, their leadership in early ratification is crucial to getting to the required 55 countries. We would easily get there if other small island developing states and members of the Climate Vulnerable Forum ratified.

How Long Will it Take for the Paris Agreement to Enter into Force?

It is reasonable to think entry into force would happen in 2017, but it’s possible that a number of countries could join this year and pass the threshold for the Agreement to go into effect. But given the varying timelines for countries to complete their domestic approval processes, the timing of entry into force is uncertain. 

For example, in Australia, the only requirement is formal notification and introduction of the Agreement in Parliament, whereas in Mexico, the consent of the Senate is also required.  For Brazil, the approval of the National Congress is required, which means seeking approval of two separate houses of Parliament. And still other countries, such as Vietnam, apply different approval processes depending on the nature of the international agreement.

Even though the EU is considered one “Party” to the Agreement, it will likely have to act jointly with its 28 member states. Each member state must complete its domestic approval processes, and the Council of Ministers, with the consent of the European Parliament, will also need to adopt a decision to ratify.  This could take a couple of years, but early entry into force is still possible without the EU.

While some compare the Paris Agreement to the Kyoto Protocol process, the previous international climate agreement, there are some important differences. Although the Kyoto Protocol followed a similar 55 Parties/55 percent of emissions approach, its threshold was based only on the carbon dioxide emissions fromdeveloped countries. By contrast, the Paris Agreement’s entry into force takes into account all greenhouse gas emissions from all countries, so it should take legal effect much more quickly than Kyoto’s seven years.

The Paris Agreement Tracker shows the importance all countries play in bringing this international climate agreement into full effect. April 22 represents the next step in what was started last December. All countries should sign and join the Paris Agreement as soon as they are able to send a strong signal that they’re moving toward a low-carbon, climate-resilient world.

Share

Stay Connected

SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTERS

Get our latest commentary, upcoming events, publications, maps, and data. Sign up for WRI Newsletter.

You are here

《巴黎协定》何时生效?互动式地图告诉你

本周,预计有100余位国家元首和其他高级政府官员将前往纽约市参加《巴黎协定》签署仪式,该协定于去年在《联合国气候变化框架公约》第二十一次缔约方会议(COP21)上通过。联合国预计,在该仪式上的签署国家的数量将超过任何其他国际协定的首日签署数量,以此展示全球对气候行动压倒性的政治支持。

正式加入该协议的过程分为两步,第一步是签署协议,第二步是正式批准。一旦有超过55个《联合国气候变化框架公约》(UNFCCC)缔约方(至少需占全球温室气体排放的55%)完成这一过程,该协议将正式 “生效”,具有法律约束力。

联合国秘书长潘基文呼吁各国领导人尽快签署和批准该协定。该进程势头不错,一些国家已经在4月22日的签署仪式之前就获得了其议会的批准。

但是各国加入究竟需要多长时间?要实现使《巴黎协定》生效的55-55门槛(55个缔约国和占全球温室气体排放的55%)需要怎样的国家组合?

“《巴黎协定》追踪平台”简介

近期,世界资源研究所发布了“《巴黎协定》追踪平台”网站。这款交互式工具可以使民众能够监测各国批准《巴黎协定》的进展,并且允许用户创建、共享和嵌入自己认为能够实现协定生效的组合。

你可以自己尝试一下。

撰写这篇博客的时候,“《巴黎协定》追踪平台”仍是一片空白,因为其实还没有一个国家签署或加入了该协定。通过选定并点击国家、地区或谈判组,用户可以看出哪些组合可能符合排放占比和国家数量的要求。

 

一些结论是显而易见的:

 

我们至少需要四大排放体中的一个加入

正如你可以从下面的情况看出,即使世界上所有其他国家批准了该协定,如果没有四大排放体(中国,美国,欧盟和俄罗斯)中的任何一个排放体加入,该协定就无法生效。

 

美国和中国可以越过大部分但是不全部的生效门槛

美国和中国均已宣布打算在4月22日签署《巴黎协定》,并承诺在今年 “尽可能早地”加入该协定。每个国家都必须遵循其各自的国内进程批准该协定。美国可以根据总统的批复加入,但对中国来说,则还需要全国人大常务委员会的批准。

美国和中国占全球排放量的38%,这对满足门槛要求起到了极大的推动作用。但我们仍然需要一些比较大的排放体尽快加入(如俄罗斯,印度,日本,巴西,加拿大,韩国和墨西哥),以尽早实现55%的排放量门槛。

目前我们进展如何呢?

一些国家(即斐济,帕劳,马绍尔群岛,马尔代夫和瑞士)已经完成4月22日签署《巴黎协定》国内的审批程序。另外一些国家,如图瓦卢则表示,他们将在签署仪式之前完成该工作。

尽管这些国家只占全球总排放量的极小比例,但是它们带头实现早期批准对满足55个国家的要求至关重要。如果其他的小岛屿发展中国家和“易受气候影响脆弱国家论坛”(Climate Vulnerable Forum)的成员国能够尽快批准,我们则更容易实现该目标。

《巴黎协定》生效需要多长时间?

2017年生效是比较合理的预测。但是如果今年有一些国家的加入,则该协定也有可能在今年生效。考虑到不同国家完成其国内审批程序的时间表不尽相同,因此生效时间是不确定的。

例如,澳大利亚的生效要求仅仅需要在议会中正式通知,并介绍该协定。在墨西哥,则需要参议院的批准。而在巴西,则需要国会的参议院和众议院同时批准。还有一些国家,例如越南,其审批流程取决于国际协议的性质。

管欧盟作为一个整体被视为该协定的一个缔约方,但是很有可能它必须获得28个成员国的同意方能采取行动。而每一个成员国都必须完成其国内的审批程序,而部长理事会在获得欧洲议会的同意之后,还需要通过一项决议来批准。这样下来可能需要好几年的时间,但是即便没有欧盟的加入,早日生效仍然是可能的。

尽管有一些人把《巴黎协定》比作更早一些国际气候协议《京都议定书》,但两者存在着重大区别。虽然《京都议定书》也有类似的55个缔约方/ 55%的排放占比的要求,但是门槛仅仅基于发达国家的二氧化碳的排放量。相比之下,《巴黎协定》的生效考虑到所有国家的所有温室气体的排放,因此其生效时间应该比《京都议定书》的七年要更快。

《巴黎协定》追踪平台”显示了所有国家参与这一国际气候协议并使其生效的重要性。4月22日将代表去年12月启动的进程的下一步。所有国家都应签署并尽快加入《巴黎协定》,以传递出强烈信号:他们正朝着一个低碳的,适应气候变化的世界迈进。

Share

联系我们

订阅我们的电子通讯

想要了解我们最新的研究进展、出版物和即将举办的活动吗?请点击订阅世界资源研究所电子通讯。